Choose to share the contents of an entire folder to a Channel or playlist, rather than adding each media individually. This is a faster way to set up a Channel or playlist from a folder by adding media files in bulk.
Share and sync folder
Within a folder, click the "Share" dropdown menu and choose whether to share your folder as a Channel or a playlist.
From the share modal, you can create a new Channel to share your folder's content to, or choose an existing one. Click "Choose existing" to select a Channel you already have, and scroll through or search your Wistia account to find the desired Channel.
Tip
Playlists live within Channels, so this applies to sharing a folder as a playlist as well!
When sharing folder content to a Channel or playlist, you'll be prompted to publish that content directly in the Channel. This can be done once, or you can choose to set up syncing between the folder and Channel.
Select "Don't sync future media" if you'd just like to share the folder once.
If you choose to sync new media, you can either opt to "Sync and publish new media" to immediately publish in a Channel, or you can "Sync new media as drafts" to a Channel so they are in a draft state that you can preview before publishing.
From here, you can choose when to publish your media. You can update this setting later as well.
Tip
You can see a preview of your Channel in the share modal.
Once you have published media to a Channel or playlist and set this up to sync, you can see the synced Channel under the Folder details. You can also see how many plays the Channel has.
Click the gear settings icon to manage the settings for the synced Channel.
From here, you can adjust the status of your synced media to share in a draft state or to publish. You can also choose to stop syncing content. Once done, click "Save."
You can also click to customize the Channel or playlist directly from the folder's page, as well as copy a direct link.
Tip
If you've chosen to share your folder as a playlist, you'll see an option to copy the embed code.
View and manage settings within Channel
If you click directly into the Channel, you'll be able to see the folder it's synced to under the Info panel.
Click the gear settings from within the Channel to manage sync settings or stop syncing.
When you're all set, click "Save."
FAQs
Why can’t I share my folder as a Channel or playlist?
You’ll need to be an Account Owner, Manager, or a Standard User with “Can manage” permissions for a specific folder in order to see this option. Limited Users and Viewers aren’t able to share a folder as a Channel or playlist, even if they’ve been given folder access.
If your user role and permissions fit these requirements but you’re still not able to share your folder as a Channel or playlist, confirm that you’re on a plan that includes Channels and that your account hasn’t reached its Channel limit.
Once I create a Channel from my folder, can I add more existing media from my library?
Yes! To add media you already have into a Channel, go to the Channel page and click "Add,” and "Choose existing," then drag it into the section you want. The “Upload” option is only for adding brand new media.
Can I sync more than one folder to a Channel?
A folder can only have one ongoing sync to a Channel at a time. However, you can share media from multiple folders to a Channel individually. Just make sure to choose "Don't sync future media" afterwards!
Can I sync a folder from inside my Channel?
You sure can! Check out our main Channels article for more info.
Other questions? Reach out to our support team!






