My Library is a private workspace where you can upload media and recordings that live separately from your team's Shared Library.
Note
My Library is available to Account Owners, Managers, and Standard Users. It is not available to Limited Users. Only Account Owners and Managers have full visibility across all users' libraries.
The "Only me" folder visibility setting prevents other users, including Account Owners and Managers, from being added as collaborators or browsing into the folder normally. However, Account Owners and Managers retain administrative visibility into My Library activity and can access content when needed. "Only me" controls collaboration, not administrative oversight.
Upload to My Library
My Library will include two folders created for you by default: [Your Name]’s Uploads and [Your Name]’s Recordings. These are standard folders that you can delete or rename.
The same customization, embedding, sharing, and analytics options are available to media in My Library as in the Shared Library.
However, you cannot archive content in My Library or share it with “Anyone in my Wistia Account.” You must move media to the Shared Library before you can select that collaboration option.
Note
Any content uploaded to My Library will contribute to your overall account usage.
You can move content from My Library to the Shared Library at any time, but note that any content copied from My Library to the Shared Library will not retain analytics.
Folder permissions in My Library
By default, folders created in My Library have an access level of “Only Me,” meaning other users cannot access the content in that private library.
My Library folders cannot be shared with “Anyone in my Wistia Account.”
When adding a new folder to My Library, the following share options are available:
Only me: A private folder that other users cannot access. No other user, including Account Owners and Managers, can see or access it until you add them.
Specific people: Invite others to collaborate on this folder. My Library folders cannot be shared with "Anyone in my Wistia Account", and content must be moved into the Shared Library first.
Manage My Library content
Account Owners and Managers can view My Library activity and access specific folders in several places in Wistia.
Note
When an Account Owner or Manager accesses a user's My Library through any of the following paths, they can take action on that content, including moving it to the Shared Library.
View My Library activity
As an Account Owner or Manager, you can find a user's sessions from their profile on the Manage team page. Sessions that include My Library activity will be labeled accordingly. You can navigate directly into the relevant folder from there if needed.
From the Team Activity dashboard in Settings, you can also see actions a user has taken related to their My Library.
Access My Library content
As an Account Owner or Manager, navigate to the Manage Team page and select a user to view their profile. You'll see a list of that user's My Library folders and can jump directly into any of them.
In your account analytics, you can view media by plays across the entire account, including media that lives in a user's My Library. From an individual media item, you can navigate into the My Library folder it belongs to.
Remove My Library for deleted users
When deleting a user, Account Owners and Managers are prompted to either "Keep" or "Delete" that user's shared and unshared My Library content:
Delete: Remove all of the user's My Library content. You'll be warned first if any of it has active embeds with recent plays.
Keep: Consolidate the content into a single folder in the Shared Library, visible only to Account Owners and Managers. You'll be prompted to reassign the remaining content to another user.
Head to our Media Management overview for more information on the Content Library and other media organization tools.
