Skip to main content

Cancel Account

Cancel your Wistia account.

Written by Caroline F

To cancel your Wistia account, you must be logged in as an Account Owner. Once logged in, click the "Settings" option from your profile icon dropdown menu.

In your account settings, select “Cancel” from the side menu, or head right to the Cancel page. You’ll be prompted to choose whether to cancel immediately or at the end of your billing cycle. Then, click "Continue to Cancel."

Once you choose to cancel, you may optionally leave feedback and then continue by clicking "Cancel Plan."

Troubleshooting and FAQs

What happens to my videos if I cancel?

Once you cancel your Wistia account, you’ll no longer be able to access your media. We recommend downloading the media in your account before cancelling to make sure you don’t lose anything important. Check out this guide to learn how to easily export all of your media in bulk from your Content Library!

Does cancelling my account also delete my data?

Cancelling your Wistia account won’t automatically erase all of your data from our system. If you’re looking to scrub your data for privacy reasons, contact our Support team and we’ve got you covered!

Note

We’re legally required to keep billing records for accounts with payment history for 7 years, so a cancelled account can’t be fully wiped from our system during that period of time.

Our Account Owner left the company! How can we cancel?

Only Account Owners can cancel a Wistia account, so if your Account Owner is no longer with the company, you’ll need to transfer ownership of the account first. Reach out to Support and we’ll walk you through this process.

Can I downgrade or pause my account instead of cancelling?

It’s not possible to temporarily pause billing on a Wistia account, but you may be able to switch to a lower cost plan instead. You can review your options and make subscription changes directly from your Plans page.

Can I get a refund if I cancel my subscription?

At this time, Wistia doesn’t provide refunds for unused portions of subscriptions. For more details on our refund policy, see our Terms of Service.

How do I reactivate my cancelled account?

Logging into a cancelled account as the Account Owner will take you to the Billing page, where you’ll be prompted to reactivate. If you’re an Account Owner but not seeing the option to reactivate, let us know and we’ll help get you back into your account!

Note
While media in cancelled accounts generally remain untouched, we can’t guarantee they’ll be stored on our servers indefinitely. If you’re worried about losing any videos or their data, make sure to export your files and analytics reports before you cancel.

Did this answer your question?